Match Reports‎ > ‎

Under-21 Footballers lose Championship crown

posted 26 Feb 2012, 07:04 by Willie Horgan   [ updated 1 Mar 2012, 04:15 by Niall Fahy ]
2011 champions,Brian Dillons, surrendered their under-21 Football Championship titlle when they went under to Nemo Rangers on a 1-11 to 1-7 scoreline at Lough Rovers Ground on Sunday morning,February 26th 2012. 

Our side dominated the early exchanges of this game and at the end of the first quarter led by 0-4 to nil. We should have been further ahead at this stage but wasted numerous scoring opportunities by some wayward shooting. We ,also, missed a penalty when Michael Peters shot was saved. Then, Nemo came thundering into the game and by half-time they had reduced the deficit to two points with the scoreline reading Brian Dillons,1-4, Nemo.0-5 at the interval. 

Nemo took control of the game in the second -half and with 10 minutes remaining they had raced into a 1-10 to  1-5 lead. Our side attacked strongly in the closing stages but, found it difficult to score against a Nemo defence which was well in control at  this period of the game. 

The Brian Dillons team lined out as follows;Jason Kelly;Stephen Kearney;Tom Harrington;James Murphy;Kevin O Sullivan;Tomas Lawrence;Michael Noonan;Darragh Brosnan;Darragh RodgersShane Maher;Dave Cremin;Ben Wharton;Michael Peters;Darren McGrath;Andrew Murphy. Subs used were,Dylan O Donoghue and Eoin Keane. Our scorers were;Michael Peters {0-3}, Darren McGrath{1-0}.Dave Cremin{0-2} Tomas Lawrence {0-2}