Match Reports‎ > ‎

Missed Chances Prove Costly in McSwiney Cup Semi-final.

posted 13 Jan 2013, 13:33 by Willie Horgan
                          Several scoring opportunities wasted was to prove costly for the Brian Dillons Junior (A) Footballers in the 2012 McSwiney Cup semi-final when they went under to Delanys by the minumum of margins, 1-7 to 1-6, which was played at Delanys Ground on Sunday morning, 13th January, 2013.
                        Brian Dillons ,once again, flattered  to deceive in this game.  In the opening half they were well in control, playing some attractive football, and held a1-5 to 0-4 lead as half -time was beckoning. Then , they handed Delanys a lifeline in the last minute of the half,when they conceded a penalty which was converted , to leave just one point between the teams ,at the interval.
                      The second half saw the Brian Dillons team playing second fiddle for the opening quarter and with nine minutes remaining they trailed by 1-7 to 1-5. For the remainder of the game Brian Dillons created two certain goal opportunities which were wasted and when it seemed they were not to score in the second half, sub. Mark Buckley popped over a point from a free , in the 30th minute which left just a point between the sides as the game entered stoppage time. Brian Dillons got several chances of securing the equaliser but were denied by faulty shooting and when Cillian Brosnan kicked a "45  wide in the last kick of the game, Delanys were winners.
                     Scorers for Brian Dillons were; John Horgan. 1-2 (0-1 free); Darren McGrath, Tomas Lawrence, Darragh Brosnan and Mark Buckley ,0-1 each.
                   Team; (1) Tom Holohan; (2),Michael Colohan;(3) Edmund Hussey; (4) Dylan O"Donoghue;(5) James O"Shea; (6) Tomas Lawrence;(7) Chris Daly; (8) Darren McGrath; (9) Darragh Brosnan;(10) Cian McCarthy;(11) Cillian Brosnan; (12) Shane Maher; (13) Dave O"Donoghue;(14) John Horgan; (15) Philip O"Brien;  Subs; Mark Buckley for Shane Maher(36 mins.) Dave O"Leary for Philip O"Brien (40 mins,) Niall Fahy for James O"Shea (42 mins.); Michael Peters for Dave O"Donoghue (46mins.)