Match Reports‎ > ‎

Minor Hurlers Have Easy Win Over Shamrocks in Championship Opener.

posted 1 Aug 2013, 15:13 by Willie Horgan
                        The Brian Dillons Minor Hurlers advanced to the second round of the Rebel Og County Minor Hurling Championship as a result of a comfortable, 3-12 to 0-1, win  over Shamrocks, at Passage on Thursday evening, 1st August, 2013.
                       Except for the opening five minutes of the game when Shamrocks took the lead with the opening point, this game was a complete mismatch with the physically stronger Brian Dillons side far too strong for a younger Shamrocks team.  On a horrendous night for hurling with continuous rain and a blustery breeze, Brian Dillons, once they settled to the difficult conditions, proceeded to dominate the game in all sectors of the field. Mark Kelly, in goal, dealt capably with the little ball that came his way, while Darren McGrath was his usual commanding figure, at full back. In the corner back positions, Ryan Burns and Michael Feehan were always in control while John Kenny, at right half back gave a consistently steady performance. Team captain, Keith McCormick, playing at centre half back, was absolutely superb,
putting all his experience of playing with the Brian Dillons Junior (A) Hurlers to good use with some splendid stickwork and also ,chipping in for some fine scores.        Midfielder, Andrew Whyte, was always in the thick of things and continues to show steady improvement in every game. The half forward line saw Eric O"Donoghue in fine form, while scoring some fine points while Brian Manning and Mark Sheedy also contributed  handsomely to this victory. Kieran Delaney, at full-forward, emerged as top scorer with 2-3 to his name while , in the corner the stylish Adam Cotter was always menacing and sprayed some lovely ball to better placed teammates on several occasions.  Colin McCarthy, and Eoin Casey, when introduced at the start of the secomd half also, played their part in this victory..  Scorers for Brian Dillons were; Kieran Delaney, 2-3; Keith McCormick, 1-2; Eric O"Donoghue, 0-4 (0-1 free ); Darren McGrath, Brian Manning and Mark Sheedy, 0-1 each.    The Brian Dillons team was; Mark Kelly; Ryan Burns; Darren McGrath; Michael Feehan; John Kenny; Keith McCormick (Capt.),Andrew Whyte; Mark Sheedy; Brian Manning; Eric O"Donoghue; Adam Cotter; Kieran Delaney; Subs;  Colin McCarthy for Mark Sheedy (second half;); Eoin Casey for Adam Cotter (35 mins.); Mark Sheedy for Eric O"Donoghue (38 mins.) and Adam Cotter for Brian Manning (40 mins.);