Match Reports‎ > ‎

Minor Footballers Blitzed by Goleen in County League Final.

posted 16 Nov 2013, 15:36 by Willie Horgan
                  The Brian Dillons Minor Footballers failed in their attempt to win the County Minor Football League trophy when they were blitzed by a first half six goal salvo from a talented Goleen side ,who went on to win by 6-9 to 1-6, in the final which was played in Clonakilty on Saturday afternoon, 16th November 2013. A disappointing end to the season for Brian Dillons but, they can take some consolation for winning the Eastern Section of the Football League , a few weeks ago.
                  Brian Dillons got an early taste of how good Goleen were when, after three minutes play,they carved open the Dillons defence and looked certain to goal  only for a great save by Mark Sheedy..However, he could do nothing to prevent Goleen"s opening goal, one minute later, when once, again the Brian Dillons defence was torn to pieces by the clever,fast and skilfull Goleen forwards. Further goals followed in the tenth, fourteenth and twenty second minutes which propelled Goleen into a 4-2 to 0-2 lead.. Brian Dillons tried manfully to stem the tide but, when Goleen added two further goals before half-time, the game was as good as over with the West Cork side leading by 6-4 to 0-4. In fairness to Brian Dillons, they never gave up and their battling second half performance has to applauded , even though they never stood a chance of overhauling the massive Goleen lead.  Their defence, after enduring a torrid opening half from the lightning fast Goleen forwards, tightened up considerably in the second half with good performances from Ryan Burns, Andrew Whyte and Darren McGrath. Keith McCormick tried his heart out ,at midfield with Eric O"Donoghue, Brian Manning, Mark Kelly and Adam Cotter doing well in the attack . Scorers for Brian Dillons were; Eric O"Donoghue,0-4 (0-2 frees); Kieran Delaney,1-1 and Keith McCormick,0-1.  Team; Mark Sheedy; Ryan Burns; Michael Feehan; John Kenny; Darren McGrath; Andrew Whyte; Keith McCormick; Eric O"Donoghue; Mark Kelly; Brian Manning; Kirean Delaney and Adam Cotter;  Sub. used; Ethan Keane for John Kenny (second half); Subs. not used; Thomas McGrath; Kyle Lynch; Sean Horgan; Ryan Walsh and Kane O"Brien.