Match Reports‎ > ‎

Minor Footballers Advance In County Championship With Win Over Carrigtwohill.

posted 18 Jul 2012, 16:36 by Willie Horgan
                The Brian Dillons Minor Footballers surmounted the first hurdle in the Rebel Og County Minor (A) Football Championship when they defeated Carrigtwohill, 0-13 to 0-6, at Carrigtwohill,on Wednesday evening ,18th July, 2012.
               Although Brian Dillons had seven points to spare at the finish, the final scoreline did not really reflect the correct story of the game. Brian Dillons could and should have won much more comfortably but, for some wayward shooting and were unlucky to strike the woodwork on at least three occasions when the ball seemed destined to finish up in the Carrigtwohill net.
             Brian Dillons dominated the proceedings during the opening twenty minutes of the game but,managed to score only four points with  Darren McGrath and Michael Peters unlucky to see their goal attempts come back off the crossbar. Encouraged by these let-offs,Carrigtwohill came more into the game in the final ten minutes of the first-half and found themselves only two points behind, 0-4 to 0-2, at the interval.
          The opening twelve minutes of the second -half saw Brian Dillons in total control and, with their markmanship much, improved they slotted over six unanswered points to lead by 0-10 to 0-2 before Carrigtwohill got their first score of the half when they put over a pointed free at the end of the third quarter of the game. This score signalled another period of the dominance for the East Cork side and they added another three points ,which left them five points behind as the game entered the ciosing five minutes. However, Brian Dillons finished in style with points from full-forward,Shane Corcoran and a pair from impressive substitute Kieran Delaney which saw their side emerge comfortable winners by a seven point margin.
        Scorers for Brian Dillons were; Michael Peters,0-6 (0-1 free);Shane Corcoran,0-3; Kieran Delaney,0-2; Darren McGrath,0-1; and Kevin Coughlan,0-1;
       The Brian Dillons team lined out as follows; (1) Cian O"Callaghan;(2) Stephen Kearney;(3) Dylan O"Donoghue;(4) David Gillen;(5) Keith McCormick;(6) Dale O"Neill;(7) Timmy O"Sullivan;(8) James O"Shea;(9) Darren McGrath;(10) Jack Maguire;(11) Michael Peters;(12) Kevin Coughlan;(13) James Bradfield; (14) Shane Corcoran;(15) Eric O"Donoghue;  Sub., Kieran Delaney for James Bradfield (52 mins.,)