Match Reports‎ > ‎

Minor Footballers Advance in Championship with Comfortable Win Over Tracton.

posted 7 Aug 2014, 18:21 by Willie Horgan
                The Brian Dillons Minor Footballers easily surmounted their first obstacle in the 2014 Rebel Og County Minor Football Championship when they had a comfortable, 5-16 to 4-6, victory over Tracton, at the Passage venue, on Thursday evening, 7th August, 2014.. Brian Dillons had it all their own way in the opening quarter when they raced into a 1-7 to nil lead, with the goal coming in the third minute from the impressive Adam Cotter. However, they were rocked  when Tracton scored 2-1, in a three minute spell which left them only three points adrift, 1-7 to 2-1, after seventeen minutes play. Brian Dillons regained their composure, in the closing ten minutes of the first half, when they added a string of well-taken points and a brilliant goal, from Ethan Keane, which had them leading at the interval by 2-11 to 2-1. Further goals in the early stages of the second half from the excellent Thomas McGrath and Sean Horgan ,consolidated Brian Dillons dominance and they led by 4-12 to 2-4, with fifteen minutes left in the game.. As in the first half, Tracton enjoyed  a period of dominance which yielded a goal and two points, which left them trailing, 4-12 to 3-6, with ten minutes remaining. However, the game was done and dusted, two minutes later, when Gavin Walsh scored Brian Dillons fifth goal and although, Tracton got their fourth goal, four minutes from the end, there was never any doubt about Brian Dillons advancing to the next round. Team coach, Keith Burns, and his fellow selectors, Donie Lyons and Finny O"Brien were well pleased with the performance of their team and the long weeks of training, in the Tank Field is certainly paying off.  Scorers for Brian Dillons were;  Thomas McGrath, 1-4; Eric O"Donoghue, 0-5 (0-4 frees); Adam Cotter,1-1; Sean Horgan,1-1; Andrew Whyte, 0-3; Ethan Keane,1-0; Gavin Walsh, 1-0 and Michael Feehan, 0-2.     The Brian Dillons team lined out as follows; Gavin Walsh; Eoin Casey; Ryan Burns; Jordan Ahern; Adam Cotter; Michael Feehan; Andrew Whtye; Eric O"Donoghue; Thomas McGrath; Ethan Keane; Sean Horgan and John Kenny; Subs.(all second half); Leon Carroll for Sean Horgan; Sam Coleman for Jordan Ahern; Sean Horgan for Adam Cotter.