Match Reports‎ > ‎

Junior (C) Footballers Championship Replay Ends Prematurely.

posted 30 Jul 2012, 15:59 by Willie Horgan
                       The City Division Junior (C) Football Championship replay between Brian Dillons (C) team and Delanys second string was abandoned after 28 minutes play ,in Ballinlough on Monday evening, 30th July,2012 due to an injury to a Delanys player who had to be removed by an ambulance to hospital.
                      The game has now been refixed for Friday next,3rd August, in Pairc Diolunaigh, with a 7.15pm throw-in.
                        The score at the premature end to Mondays game was Delanys,2-4; Brian Dillons,1-4;  Brian Dillons opened brightly with a point from play by team captain,Andrew Daly,after less than a minute.Delanys equalised with a pointed free after 6 minutes and they were ahead two minutes later with another point. After 11 minutes a good attacking movement ended with Stephen Crowley fisting the ball to the net for a good Brian Dillons goal which was quickly followed by a Dave O"Donoghue point which left the score read after 11 minutes, Brian Dillons,1-2; Delanys,0-2. Three minutes later, Delanys were back on level terms when they goaled and two minutes later they went ahead with a point.     Brian Dillons responded when Darren McGrath burst through from midfield to score a fine point after 20 minutes to level the scores once again.  Disaster struck for Brian Dillons when ,after surrendering possession in the middle of the field, Delanys worked the ball upfield and finished it to the net after 23 minutes. They followed this goal with a point in less than a minute and Brian Dillons looked in trouble. However, Kevin Varian reduced the deficit with a point after 26 minutes and then two minutes later came the unfortunate accident to the Delanys player which led to the premature ending to the game.
                  Scorers for Brian Dillons were; Stephen Crowley,1-0; Andrew Daly, Dave O"Donoghue, Darren McGrath and Kevin Varian ,0-1 each.
             Team; (1) Paul McCarthy;(2) James Varian; (3) Sean Kelly;(4) Donal Shek (5)Paul Horgan; (6) Dylan O"Donoghue;(7) James O"Shea; (8) Darren McGrath;(9) Mark Kelly;(10) Stephen Crowley;(11) Derek Whelan; (12) Kevin Varian; (13) Ciarain Kelleher; (14) Andrew Daly; 
 (15) Dave O"Donoghue.