Match Reports‎ > ‎

Junior (B) Hurlers Storm past Whitechurch in League Semi-final.

posted 18 Nov 2012, 08:27 by Willie Horgan
                      The Brian Dillons Junior (B) Hurlers qualified for the final of the City Division Junior (2) Hurling League with a resounding, 1-15 to 0-9, victory over Whitechurch, which was played in Whitechurch on Sunday morning, 18th November, 2012. They now meet Lough Rovers in the final of the competition.
                      Playing against the chilly breeze in the opening half, Brian Dillons laid the foundations for this highly creditable victory, when they went in at half-time leading by 0-8 to 0-7. Now with the wind behind them in the second- half, Brian Dillons got completely on top  and , with their defence giving nothing away and their forwards securing some splendid scores, they emerged as comfortable winners.
                     As already mentioned, the Brian Dillons defence were superb throughout this game with John O"Herlihy giving an impeccable performance between the posts. Other defenders to give particularly outstanding displays were Derek McDonnell, Darren McGrath and Cian Crowley. The youthful pairing of James O"Shea and Shane Maher, at midfield, ran themselves to a standstill as well as both getting on the scoresheet with a point each. Mark Buckley was on fire in the forwards where he caused all sorts of problems for the Whitechurch defenders, who had to foul him, on numerous occasions, which led to James Horgan scoring from the placed balls . Mark also helped himself to three excellent points from play. Kevin Varian was ,also, very prominent in the Brian Dillons attack while Tommy Boland, who got the final touch to score the only goal of the game, and James Horgan  put all their experience to good use in this game.
                The Brian Dillons scorers were; James Horgan, 0-6 (0-4 frees ); Kevin Varian, 0-4; Mark Buckley, 0-3; Tommy Boland,1-0; Shane Maher ,0-1; and James O"Shea, 0-1;
               Team; (1) John O"Herlihy; (2) Stephen Kearney; (3) Derek McDonnell; (4) Keith Burns ; (5) James Murphy; (6) Darren McGrath ; (7) Cian Crowley; (8) Shane Maher; (9) James O"Shea; (10) Tommy Boland ; (11) James Horgan; *(12) Ben Wharton ; (13) Mark Buckley; (14) Andrew Daly; (15) Kevin Varian;  Subs; Seanie O"Dwyer for Andrew Daly (half-time); Stephen Coughlan for Seanie O"Dwyer (55 mins.);