Match Reports‎ > ‎

Junior (B) Hurlers Lose Their Unbeaten Run to Whitechurch.

posted 2 Jul 2012, 03:56 by Niall Fahy
The Brian Dillons Junior Hurling second string suffered their first defeat in this seasons City Division Junior (2) Hurling League when they went under to an impressive Whitechurch side on a scoreline of 5-13 to 4-6 ,at Whitechurch on Tuesday evening,12th June,2012.
                  After a ciosely contested opening half hour,Whitechurch held a slender 2-3 to 1-4 lead at the interval. The Brian Dillons goal scorer in this half was corner -forward, Damian Horgan. Brian Dillons actually dominated the play in this opening half but, lack of penetration by their forwards against a teak tough Whitechurch defence saw numerous scoring opportunities wasted. In contrast, the Whitechurch forwards, with far fewer chances,always looked threatening and made the most of their first-half opportunities.
                  An early second-half pointed free put Whitechurch 2-4 to 1-4 ahead but almost immediately, Brian Dillons were level when Eamonn McCarthy got a touch to Dylan O"Donoghues long range free for the equalising goal. However, Brian Dillons were outhurled for the next fifteen minutes when they failed to score and Whitechurch added a further 2-6. Brian Dillons did manage to reduce the arrears to just five points with a few minutes remaining with two excellent goals from Mark Buckley and Ben Wharton .Whitechurch,however, showed their class with a further 1-2 in the dying seconds to emerge as comfortable winners.
               Despite this defeat,Brian Dillons are still in a strong position in this League and are almost certain to qualify for the knock -out semi-final stage. They have two games still to play with home ties against Na Piarsaigh and Ballinure coming up. More importantly, they face their opening Championship game on next Saturday week,June 23rd,with Douglas providing the opposition,in Ballinlough with a 7.30pm throw-in.
            The Brian Dillons scorers against Whitechurch were;Ben Wharton,1-2; James Horgan,0-3 (frees);Eamonn McCarthy,1-0; Damian Horgan,1-0; Mark Buckley,1-0; Dylan O"Donoghue,0-1(free);