Match Reports‎ > ‎

Junior (A) Hurlers Remain Unbeaten in League with Five Point Away Win Over Delanys.

posted 1 Jul 2014, 16:07 by Willie Horgan
            The Brian Dillons Junior (A) Hurling team remain unbeaten in this seasons City Division Junior (1) Hurling League, with their sixth consecutive win in the competition, when they recorded a hard earned victory over Delanys, on Tuesday evening, 1st July, 2014, out in Delanys Ground. The final score was ; Brian Dillons, 1-13; Delanys, 0-11.
            Fresh from their exciting win over St.Finbarrs  in their Championship opener, three nights earlier, Brian Dillons lined out without six members of the side that started on Saturday night and Manager , Billy Cashman was able to give several fringe players an opportunity to impress. However, the opening half of this game saw Brian Dillons struggle to cope with the tenacity of the Delanys challenge and they only managed a two point interval lead, 0-7 to 0-5.
           Two minutes into the second half and  Delanys, with two quick points, were back on level terms and they remained in that position , with fifteen minutes left in the game. Billy Cashman and his selectors, then, decided to introduce a few substitutions which were instrumental in Brian Dillons controlling the closing quarter.   One of the replacements, Tomas Lawrence, who was rested from the starting fifteen, went on a fine run through the Delanys defence and was,eventually,grounded and a penalty awarded. John Horgan"s powerful penalty strike was blocked by the three man Delanys defence but the rebound fell to the alert, James Murphy, who finished to the net with aplomb...1-9 to 0-9, with fourteen minutes remaining. Further  Brian Dillons points followed from John Horgan (two) , Dave Coughlan and Keith McCormick before a dogged Delanys side closed the scoring with two late points . Scorers for Brian Dillons were; John Horgan, 0-7 (0-6 frees. 0-1 "65); James Murphy, 1-2; Shane Maher, Keith McCormick,John Noonan and Dave Coughlan, 0-1 each. The Brian Dillons team lined out as follows; Andrew Murphy; Maurice Carey; Darren McGrath; Michael Noonan; Niall Fahy; Darragh Brosnan; Dave Cremin; Shane Maher; Keith McCormick; John Noonan; Cian McCarthy; Dave Coughlan; John Horgan; James Murphy and Kevin Varian. Subs; (all second half ); Tomas Lawrence for Shane Maher; Niall O"Sullivan for Cian McCarthy; Mark Buckley for Kevin Varian; Dylan O"Donoghue for Dave Cremin; Stephen Kearney for Michael Noonan.