Match Reports‎ > ‎

Junior (A) Hurlers Reach McCurtain Cup Final.

posted 27 Nov 2012, 09:47 by Willie Horgan
                The Brian Dillons Junior (A) Hurlers qualified for the final of the McCurtain Cup competition with a comfortable victory over Glen Rovers , on Sunday morning, 25th November,2012,out in Pairc Diolunaigh. The final score was; Brian Dillons, 5-11; Glen Rovers, 2-4;
                  Torrential rain cascaded down throughout this game which made it extremely difficult for the players. It was the sharpness of the Brian Dillons side, which was garnered in their recent run to the County Championship final, that made this latest victory possible. At the end of an evenly contested opening quarter, Brian Dillons were leading by 0-4 to 0-3, and then, Tomas Lawrence, back for his first game since the County final replay,scored the first goal of the game. One minute later, Keith McCormick added a second goal for Brian Dillons, and from that moment on the result was never in doubt. At half-time, Brian Dillons were leading by 3-6 to 0-4 with John Horgan netting the third goal.
             The Brian Dillons selectors withdrew Tomas Lawrence and John Horgan, not fully recovered from recent injury problems, early in the second -half ,just when a fourth goal was secured by Cillian Brosnan to leave Dillons leading by 4-6 to 0-4. The dominance of Brian Dillons continued for the remainder of the game and even though the Glen got through for two goals, Cian McCarthy added a fifth goal to give his side a comfortable 5-11 to 2-4 victory. Brian Dillons will now meet Na Piarsaigh in the final of this competition.
           Scorers for Brian Dillons were; Cillian Brosnan,1-4; Cian McCarthy,1-3;John Horgan,1-1; Tomas Lawrence,1-0; Keith McCormick,1-0; John Noonan,0-2; and Andrew Murphy,0-1;
           Team; (1) Eric O"Donovan;(2) Niall Fahy;(3) Danny Murphy; (4)Michael Noonan; (5) Dylan O"Donoghue; (6) Mark White; (7) Darragh Brosnan; (8) Daniel McCormick; (9) Tomas Lawrence; (10) Cian McCarthy; (11) Cillian Brosnan; (12) John Horgan; (13) John Noonan ; (14) Keith McCormick; (15) Andrew Murphy; Subs; Dave Coughlan for John Horgan (35mins.); Kevin Coughlan for Tomas Lawrence (35 mins.);