Match Reports‎ > ‎

Junior (A) Footballers Advance in City Division Championship

posted 13 May 2012, 10:38 by Willie Horgan
                             The Brian Dillons Junior (A) Footballers advanced to the third round of the City Division Junior (A) Football Championship with a comfortable,1-9 to 0-5,victory over Na Piarsaigh, at Ballinlough,on Saturday evening,12th May 2012. While they never looked in danger of losing this game,the performance of the Brian Dillons side was not over impressive and a huge improvement is required,if they are to make further progress in this competition.
                             The opening half of this game saw the Brian Dillons side in complete control and they led at the interval by 1-5 to nil. The Brian Dillons goal was scored by Cillian Brosnan when he expertly converted from the penalty spot, which was awarded when John Horgan was tripped in the small square as he was about to pull the trigger in a one to one situation with the Piarsaigh goalkeeper.
                              Na Piarsaigh began to come more into the game, in the early stages of the second half, when they scored the opening two points and ,then, they were awarded a penalty kick which was well saved by the excellent James Kirby in the Brian Dillons goal. Recovering from this let off, Brian Dillons controlled the remainder of the game but,their lack of scoring power must be a major cause of concern for the team management. What is particularly puzzling about this lethargic display is that in the previous two League games, the Brian Dillons forwards were in sparkling form ,notching 3-14 against Passage and 2-15 against St.Vincents. Against Na Piarsaigh, they struggled to find the target with only two of the starting forwards on the scoresheet.
                            However, we are now in the hat for the third round draw and surely a much better forward display will be produced against whoever we are pitted against. The Brian Dillons scorers were; John Horgan, 0-4 (0-3frees);Tomas Lawrence, 0-3; Cillian Brosnan,1-0 (pen); Tom Triggs, 0-1; and Brian Barrett, 0-1;
                           The Brian Dillons team lined out as follows; (1);James Kirby; (2) Ben Wharton; (3)Edmund Hussey; (4) Niall Fahy; (5) Mark Walsh; (6) Cillian Brosnan; (7) Tom Triggs; (8),Chris Daly; (9) Darragh Brosnan; (10) Dave Cremin; (11) Tomas Lawrence ; (12) Cian McCarthy; (13) Michael Peters; (14) John Horgan; (15) Philip O"Brien; Subs; Brian Barrett for Dave Cremin ;Darragh Rodgers for Ben Wharton; Michael Colohan for Philip O"Brien.