Match Reports‎ > ‎

Depleted Junior (A) Footballers No Match For "Barrs in City League Final.

posted 12 Dec 2014, 17:47 by Willie Horgan   [ updated 13 Dec 2014, 03:39 ]
                                The Brian Dillons Junior (A) Footballers failed in their attempt to win back to back City Division Junior (1) Football League titles, when they were well and truly beaten by St.Finbarrs in the 2014 final which was played out in chilly Pairc Diollunaigh on Friday evening, 12th December,2014. The final score was St.Finbarrs, 2-19, Brian Dillons, 0-3.. Fielding without ten of their Championship team, namely Cian McCarthy, Tomas Lawrence, Darragh Brosnan, Darren McGrath, Mark Walsh, Dave Cremin, Dave O"Leary John Noonan, Mark Buckley and Dave Coughlan, this was always going to be a difficult assignment for Brian Dillons and, to add to their woes ,Niall Fahy and Edmund Hussey were forced to lineout with both players carrying niggling injuries into the game. On the other hand the Football produced by the "Barrs was out of the top drawer and even with a full team, Brian Dillons would have found it extremely difficult to have won..Pity then, that the Football League campaign should come to a disappointing end ,at the final hurdle,  and maybe games so near to Christmas should be avoided ,in the future, as there are so many other distractions going on , at this time of the year.
                            St. Finbarrs were always in control of the game and, except for a brief period in the first half, Brian Dillons were always playing second fiddle. The half-time score was; St.Finbarrs,1-8; Brian Dillons,0-3 with the Brian Dillons points coming from Philip O"Brien, Dave O"Donoghue (free) and Edmund Hussey.  The fact that Brian Dillons failed to score in the second half , with the  "Barrs adding 1-11, tells how much the game was so lopsided in the second thirty minutes. The Brian Dillons team lined out as follows; James Kirby; Andrew Murphy; James Murphy; Michael Noonan;  Niall Fahy; Colm O"Connor; Martin Corbett; Chris Daly; Cillian Brosnan; Philip O"Brien; Danny Murphy; Kevin Coughlan; Shane Maher; Edmund Hussey; and Dave O"Donoghue;  Subs;John Horgan for Shane Maher (half-time); Eric O"Donoghue for Kevin Coughlan (45 mins.); Eoin Hennessy for Niall Fahy (50 mins.); Niall Fahy for Edmund Hussey (Injured, 53 mins.).