Match Reports‎ > ‎

Defeat for Junior (B) Footballers in Seandun Cup Semi-final.

posted 19 Nov 2014, 15:34 by Willie Horgan
                     After a most disappointing performance , the Brian Dillons Junior (B) Footballers crashed out of the Seandun Cup, at the semi-final stage, when they went under to a better Whites Cross side ,on a scoreline of 0-11 to 0-6, at Pairc Diolunaigh on Wednesday evening, 19th November, 2014.  Brian Dillons never really got going in this game and were always playing second fiddle to much better organised Whites Cross side. Hard to believe that when these sides last met, in a League encounter, on  October 3rd, 2014, Brian Dillons emerged victorious on  1-11 to 0-7 scoreline ,but, however, on this occasion, Whites Cross were by far the better side. Brian Dillons showed five changes from the October clash and the absence of players like James Murphy, Brian Manning and Derek McDonnell were a huge loss.
             Whites Cross were in control in the opening half and ,but, for the heroic defending of goalkeeper, John Shek, Ciarain Kelleher, Paul Horgan and ,particularly, Damien Horgan, Brian Dillons would have been further behind than the 0-6 to 0-3 half-time scoreline. With a limited supply of the ball, the Brian Dillons forwards rarely threatened, although Tommy Boland was unlucky when his shot for goal hit the upright and was cleared.  The second half saw the hungrier Whites Cross outfit continuing their dominance , scoring some fine points while the Brian Dillons attack continued to struggle to get on the scoresheet. Besides those players, already mentioned above, only Kevin O"Sullivan, Michael Colohan and Eric O"Donoghue can look back on this game with satisfaction, for Brian Dillons. At the final whistle, Whites Cross were deserving winners on a 0-11 to 0-6 scoreline   Scorers for Brian Dillons were;Seanie O"Dwyer, 0-3 (0-2 frees); Michael Colohan, Barry Triggs and Tommy Boland, 0-1 each.  The Brian Dillons team lined out as follows; John Shek; Ciarain Kelleher; Paul Horgan; Damien Horgan; Adam Cotter; Kevin O"Sullivan; Ryan Burns; Mark Kelly; Michael Colohan; Eric O"Donoghue; Ken McCarthy; Barry Triggs; Sean Kelly; Tommy Boland;  and Seanie O"Dwyer;  Subs (not used) Jason Heffernan; Michael Feehan and John Kenny.