Match Reports‎ > ‎

Brian Dillons Minor Hurlers Get Their League Campaign Off to Winning Start.

posted 10 Apr 2014, 16:13 by Willie Horgan
                            Brian Dillons opened their Rebel Og County Minor Hurling League campaign in style, when they travelled to Kinsale on Thursday evevning, 10th April, 2014, and came away with maximum points ,as a result of their 2-6 to 1-1 victory. This was a noteworthy win for Brian Dillons as they had to lineout without a few of their first choice players and had to field a number of their under-15 and under-16 players,  who, incidentally, performed splendidly throughout the game.  Brian Dillons, playing with the advantage of the breeze in the opening half, raced into a 2-4 to nil lead , after twenty minutes play, with the goals coming from excellent midfielders, Eric O"Donoghue and Andrew Whyte.. Kinsale got a goal back when they beat the reliable Brian Dillons "keeper, Michael Feehan, with five minutes remaining in the first half, which left the half-time score reading; Brian Dillons, 2-4; Kinsale, 1-0;
                          The second half turned out to be a low scoring affair, with Brian Dillons continuing to dominate the proceedings in the third quarter, but some wayward shooting cost them numerous scores.. Kinsale made a supreme effort to get back into the game, in the closing quarter, against a tiring Brian Dillons side, but great defensive play by Ryan Burns, at full-back, ably assisted by Eoin Casey, Thomas McGrath, John Kenny and Jordan Ahern, kept the South-East scoring to just a solitary point throughout the entire second half. The Brian Dillons goalkeeper,Michael Feehan, also, dealt capably with the few balls that came his way. At midfield, Eric O"Donoghue, who scored 1-6, and Andrew Whyte were absolutely brilliant for Brian Dillons , while in a fairly young forward division, Rory O"Sullivan, Kyle Lynch, Sean Horgan and Sam Coleman are to be complimented for their spirited play. Scorers for Brian Dillons were; Eric O"Donoghue, 1-6 (0-2 frees); and Andrew Whyte, 1-0;