Match Reports‎ > ‎

Brave Effort by Youthful Minor Hurlers Fails in Championship Clash with Shamrocks.

posted 26 Jun 2014, 15:41 by Willie Horgan   [ updated 26 Jun 2014, 17:14 ]
                 A brave performance, particularly in the first half, by the young Brian Dillons Minor Hurlers , in their Rebel Og County Minor Hurling Championship encounter against Shamrocks, was not enough to avoid defeat with the Carrigdhoun representatives emerging victorious on a 2-16 to 2-8 scoreline. The game was played in Passage on Thursday evening, 26th June, 2014.
              Hard to believe that when these sides met at the same stage of the Championship last year, Brian Dillons were convincing winners on a 3-12 to 0-1 scoreline. However, the loss of Darren McGrath, Keith McCormick, Mark Kelly, Brian Manning and Kieran Delaney, who are over the age limit this year, proved too much of a loss to Brian Dillons as they were replaced by several players who are still eligible for the under-16 grade.. Still, against a good, excellently prepared Shamrocks side, the young Brian Dillons team gave their all  and when Andrew Whyte finished a good move, involving a few players, to the net, after 14 minutes, they took the lead, 1-2 to 0-4, Still leading by 1-5 to 0-6, after 20 minutes, Brian Dillons could have been further ahead but, for some wayward shooting,especially from placed balls, and in the closing 10 minutes of the first half, Shamrocks edged ahead with three consecutive points, which gave them a 0-9 to 1-5 interval lead.
               The Ringaskiddy side secured a firm grip of the game in the opening quarter of the second half, at the end of which they had raced clear by 2-14 to 1-6.. However, Brian Dillons never gave up and the lionhearted Eric O"Donoghue  goaled from a 20 metre free, besides adding a few points, to put a more respectable look on the scoreboard.  Scorers for Brian Dillons were; Eric O"Donoghue, 1-4 (1-2 frees); Andrew Whyte, 1-2; Ethan Keane,0-1 and Adam Cotter, 0-1 (free); The Brian Dillons team was; Mark Sheedy; Michael Feehan;  Eoin Casey; Ryan Burns; Rory O"Sullivan; Adam Cotter; Andrew Whyte; Ethan Keane; John Kenny; Eric O"Donoghue; Gavin Walsh; and Thomas McGrath; Subs; Darren O"Connor for Rory O"Sullivan; Sean Horgan for Eoin Casey; and Eoin Casey for Adam Cotter (Inj.)