Club News‎ > ‎

Junior (A) Footballers meet "Barrs in Championship final on Sunday.

posted 26 Sept 2013, 15:36 by Willie Horgan   [ updated 26 Sept 2013, 16:32 ]
                           The Brian Dillons Junior (A) Footballers contest the City Division Junior (A) Football Championship final, for the first time since 1999, when they meet St.Finbarrs , in Ballinlough, on Sunday afternoon next, 29th September, 2013, with a  4.00pm throw-in. While the clubs Junior (A) Hurlers have been grabbing the headlines for the past ten years, it is refreshing to see the Footballers in the limelight and it would be great to see them succeed in Sundays final.
                          The Footballers have been playing fairly consistently throughout this season, losing only once, to Delanys , in the League, while chalking up nine victories plus three Championship wins.They have been knocking at the door of this Championship for the past two seasons, losing at the semi-final stage to Douglas (2011) and St. Finbarrs, last year. In this years campaign they had a,2-6 to 1-8, victory over St.Michaels  in the opening round before accounting for Bishopstown, 0-11 to 1-5 , in the second round. In neither of these games did Brian Dillons look likely title contenders, but, a huge improvement was evident in their football, when they overcame a fancied Whites Cross side, 1-12 to 1-7, in the semi -final. Their opponents on Sunday, St.Finbarrs, go into Sundays final with impressive credentials, having lost to Douglas in last years final, and were crowned Champions in 2011. In last years semi-final they had a comfortable enough win over next Sundays opponents, but, only, it must be added, when Brian Dillons had to play three quarters of the game with fourteen players, having had a player sent off after fifteen minutes play.
                  If Brian Dillons can re-produce the intelligent football they displayed in their semi-final triumph over Whites Cross, then they are in with a great chance of being crowned City Division Junior (A) Football Champions for the first time since 1998. Best wishes are extended to the panel as well as the team management of Kieran Hanley (Manager), Alan Whelan, Martin McSweeney and  Pat Fitzgerald.